Foundation Board

Most Important Responsibilities

  • Setting of guidelines for the work of the foundation;
  • Appointing the Chair of the Foundation (who is also Rector);
  • Deciding on the budget.

Current Members



  • Björn Thümler, Minister for Science and Culture, Lower Saxony

Vice  Chairperson

  • Prof. Dr. Eva Quante-Brandt, Senator for Science, Health and Consumer Protection of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen 


  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Christian Berg, Lecturer; Steering Committee of the Deutsche Gesellschaft Club of Rome
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Ellen Ivers-Tiffée, Karlsruhe Institute of Technology
  • Axel Jahnz, Mayor of the City of Delmenhorst
  • Dr. Joachim Lohse, Senator for Environment, Civil Engineering, and Transport of the Free Hanseatic City of Bremen
  • Prof. Dr. Dr. Hans Michael Piper, President of the Carl von Ossietzky University Oldenburg
  • Dr. h.c. Thomas Reiter, European Space Agency (ESA)
  • Prof. Dr.-Ing. Bernd Scholz-Reiter, Rector of the University of Bremen
  • Grant Hendrik Tonne, Minister for Education, Lower Saxony
  • Prof. Dr. Margret Wintermantel, President, German Academic Exchange Service (DAAD)

In Advisory Capacity

  • Prof. Dr. Kai-Uwe Hinrichs, University of Bremen, Chairman of the Scientific Advisory Board
  • Prof. Dr. Kerstin Schill, Rector of the HWK, Delmenhorst